Department of Mathematics

Department of Mathematics was established since the existence of this college. This college, which is imparting purely Science Education, started with four Science subjects Physics, Mathematics, Chemistry and Biology in 1949. Since then, this department has been on the forefront of the mathematical activities held in Central India. Our department has played a significant role in popularizing and promulgating ‘Mathematics’ in the central region in general and Vidarbha in particular.
This is because of the untiring efforts by all the members of the department for the cause of ‘Mathematics’. We are proud of our rich mathematical heritage earned by the eminent mathematicians like Pro. S. R. Mangalgiri, Prof. T. K. Daftari, Prof. V. N. Indurkar, Prof. A W. Vyawahare and Prof. A. S. Muktibodh. These stalwarts have been instrumental in introducing ‘Modern Mathematics’ in the Vidarbha region and are well known mathematicians in their own realm of the subject.
Today mathematics department is working on the same path as shown by our predecessors. We are trying to impart quality education to our students to see to it that they become good mathematicians, and are able to apply their knowledge constructively to real life situations. We do not forget our responsibility towards the society and hence are engaged in popularizing mathematics in our region by holding various mathematical activities through NUMTA (Nagpur University Mathematics Teachers’ Association). In association with NUMTA we hold MANGALGIRI lecture series every year. We organize ‘workshops’, Quiz, exhibitions, Seminars, Symposia etc.
We have proactively involved our students in the active research field, in order to make them conversant with the recent activities going on in this field and make them well equipped with the future things to come.
We are using ICT to enrich ourselves and our students with the subject and its recent developments. We also use mathematical software like ‘Mathematica’, ‘Maple’ for our purpose. We plan to use ICT to the fullest extent which we think is the boon for every educationist. The department students and teachers are involvedin active research programs and also interdisciplinary Research.

Staff members

Senior College

Name: Mr. Satish T. Rathod
Designation: Assistant Professor and Head
Qualification: M.Sc., B.Ed., M.Phil.
Contact No.: 9423632180
Specialization: Pure Mathematics
Experience: UG – 15 Years, PG – 6 Years (Teaching)
Publications : 01 (International), 02 (National)
Interest : Algebra, Number Theory and Relativity

Mr. S. T. Rathod is the regular faculty and three contributory faculties Mr. Prashant V. Nimje, Mrs. Madhuri Kullarkar and Ms. Priyanka Devikar teach at the B. Sc. and M. Sc. levels. 

Junior College

Name:Mrs. Vandana R. Ambade
Designation:Junior College Teacher
Qualification:M.Sc., Ph.D., B.Ed.
Contact No.:9405292709
Experience:19 years
Interest :Reading
Name:Mr. Vijay V. Tidke
Designation:Junior College Teacher
Qualification:M.Sc., B.Ed.
Contact No.:9850394399
Experience:19 years
Name:Dr. Smita S. Kamde
Designation:Junior College Teacher
Qualification:M.Sc., Ph.D., B.Ed.
Contact No.:9422441541
Experience:8 years
Interest :Reading

Courses offered by the department:

  1. B.Sc. with Mathematics (Three Year Course – Semester Pattern)

This department offers Mathematics as one of the subjects in combination of following Programs:

  • Physics, Chemistry, Mathematics
  • Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science
  • Physics, Geology, Mathematics
  • Chemistry, Industrial Chemistry, Mathematics
  • M.Sc. in Mathematics (Two Year Course – Semester Pattern)

Research Projects:

The faculty member of the department has successfully completed one minor research project funded by the UGC successfully.

Conferences/ workshops/ seminars organized:

Department of Mathematics has organized a one day National Seminar on ‘Group Theory and its Applications’ on 14 March 2015 & ‘Inter -collegiate Seminar Competition’ on 14 march 2016.


Memorandum of Understanding with between Departments of Mathematics,  Shri. R. R. Lahori Science, College Morshi, Dist-Amravati is in existence.